Spotlight Award Program - Excellence

Spotlight Awards highlight excellence and achievements in the field of parks and recreation by honoring the amazing efforts of public agencies. Program Excellence Awards honor achievements in the delivery of parks and recreation programs and services.


Arts & Cultural Services - Programs, initiatives or special events that celebrate community character and reinforce the value of visual, performing or historic resources.
Cultural Competency - Programs, initiatives or special events that reach across cultural boundaries to educate, include,  welcome and serve all individuals.
Environmental Stewardship - Programs, initiatives or special events that enhance the physical environment, promote the conservation of natural resources or connect individuals to nature and the outdoors.
Health & Wellness - Programs, initiatives or special events that promote healthy lifestyles and community wellness.
Innovative Programming - Programs, initiatives or special events that are unique and cutting edge.


  • Programs that occurred during the past two years and have not received prior recognition under this awards category.
  • Must be a member of WRPA to submit a nomination and to be eligible to win.


  • Successfully addressed a community or regional service need.
  • Effectiveness of the program or initiative


Selection criteria allows the Awards Committee to honor people, programs and projects of various scale and size. Agencies are encouraged to submit nominations that resulted in a beneficial, or positive impact on their community. Multiple winners may be selected.

  • Complete the online nomination above, where you will be asked to provide the following information:
    • Contact information for nomination
    • Name of the program or  initiative.
    • The year the program or  initiative took place.
    • A description of the program or  initiative.
    • The primary goal of the program or  initiative and whether or not the goal was met.
    • Effectiveness of the program or  initiative. 
  • Email a maximum of three photos or graphics to the WRPA office for the award category you are applying for:
    • Arts & Cultural Services
    • Cultural Competency
    • Environmental Stewardship
    • Health & Wellness
    • Innovative Programming