Washington Recreation & Park Association Announces Annual Award Recipients



The Washington Recreation & Park Association (WRPA) celebrates people, parks, and programs with an award program honoring individuals and organizations for their contributions to the field of parks and recreation in Washington State. The 2018 award recipients were honored at our Annual Conference & Trade Show on Wednesday, May 2 at the Hilton Seattle Airport & Conference Center.

Professional Award Recipients

President's Award

Sarah Olson, Lynnwood Parks & Recreation

Honor Fellow

Lori Cummings, City of Everett

Young Professional

Kim Best, City of Cheney

Ron C. Davis II Award

Dianne Bailey, Snohomish County

Citation of Merit - Citizen

James Reddick, City of Olympia Shalisa Hayes, Metro Parks Tacoma

Citation of Merit - Professional

Mary Coppin, City of Lacey

Citation of Merit - Organization

BMX Program, City of Spokane

Citation of Merit - Legislative

Joe Henry Duffin, City of Tukwila

Distinguished Service

Bruce Fletcher, City of Mercer Island Dennis Higashiyama, City of Lakewood Mary Anne Kelly, Shoreline Jane Lewis, City of Everett Terry Smith, Bellevue Cathy VonWald, City of Bellevue Kathy Whitman, City of Seattle

Mickey Corso Scholarship

Ryan Daly, City of Mercer Island Kirstin May, City of Tukwila John Dunn, City of Tukwila Jessica Compton, William Shore Memorial Pool

Facilities & Parks Spotlight Award Recipients

Outdoor Space

Saddle Rock Education Area, City of Wenatchee Veterans Memorial Pool, City of Walla Walla

Trails

Ebey Waterfront Trail, City of Marysville

Marketing & Outreach Spotlight Award Recipients Innovative Outreach

Get Moving, City of Seattle

Program Excellence Spotlight Award Recipients

Arts & Cultural

Dia de los Muertos, City of Burien

Environmental Stewardship

Youth Mountain Bike Initiative, Bainbridge Island

Health & Wellness

Elementary Sports Program, Metro Parks Tacoma

Innovative Program

Dementia-Friendly Recreation, City of Seattle